Disability benefits such as Supplemental Security Income (SSI) are available to people who cannot work due to illness, injury, or another medical condition. Benefits for disabled workers under the Social Security system. The Center for Taxation and Economic Policy estimates that there are currently 8.2 million people receiving Disability Benefits benefits. To be eligible for the program, you must be able to go to work or retrain for a new position.

When qualifying for Social Security disability payments, an applicant’s age is a significant factor. To be eligible for Social Security disability benefits, you must be at least a certain age. The Department Of Homeland Security uses four different areas to determine whether or not a job candidate is fit for a new position. Pekas Smith: Arizona Disability Attorneys now provide a more detailed breakdown of the different age groups eligible for SSD payments.

Importance Of Social Security Disability Age Categories

The Social Security Administration provides disability benefits to protect persons who cannot work because of a disability. As a starting point, a job applicant must provide proof of their injury and inability to work in their previous workplace. Additional confirmation is needed to show that the individual cannot find a less physically demanding job through job retraining.

An employee’s age has a significant bearing on their suitability for job retraining. Social Security Administration (SSA) consideration of a disability applicant’s “actual age in combination with your residual functional capacity, education, and work experience” is required under CFR 404.1563. There is no room for error here. Older workers have a lower chance of getting their vocational training requests approved by the Social Security Administration (SSA).


There are four major age groups used by the Social Security Administration (SSA) when evaluating a candidate’s fitness for a vocational retraining program. When you apply for SSDI or SSI benefits, the category you fall into is essential. The following are Arizona’s four Social Security disability classifications:

  • Person In Their Twenties Or Thirties

Based on their age, workers under 50 are ideal for vocational retraining. You can, however, receive Social Security disability payments as a young person, provided that your medical condition is severe enough. As long as you’re under 50, you’re considered highly retrainable by the SSA.

  • Getting On In Years (Between 50 And 54)

The SSA acknowledges that lengthy retraining in a new field may be difficult for workers over 50. When it comes to workers approaching retirement age, the Social Security Administration (SSA) is significantly more lenient when deeming them “unsuitable” for retraining. In other words, if you’re over the age of 50, you’re more likely to get your SSD claim approved.

  • Those In Their Fifties And Sixties

According to the Social Security Administration (SSA), anyone over the age of 55 is regarded as an elderly worker. Only the most basic forms of job retraining are considered appropriate for these applicants. It is feasible that the Social Security Administration will accept a late 50s applicant for some little retraining.

  • Coming Of Age (60 Years Of Age Or Older)

As a person aged, 60 and up is approaching retirement. Indeed, they will be eligible for Social Security retirement payments in a few short years. Applicants in this age range are practically never required to participate in vocational rehabilitation programs. Instead, the SSA will see if the applicant’s current talents may be applied to a job with fewer demands.


As part of an SSD claim, age categories are just one of several considerations that will be considered. These are some of the most challenging cases we’ve ever dealt with. It’s possible to get help from experts. A knowledgeable Social Security disability lawyer can answer any queries you may have.